The News

OK, the news is usually bad and that’s why I don’t watch it anymore. I was getting pretty depressed there for a while, watching the “unbiased” news on CNN and FOX and MSNBC. So I stopped. I actually dropped my TV and broke it trying to move it. I think subconsciously I wanted to.

Someone gave me a TV not too long ago and I never hooked it up. That’s when I realized I’d had enough of horrible ads, reality shows, endless sitcom repeats and, of course, THE NEWS.

Now I read the headlines on Yahoo. Just to have some idea of what’s going on. I watch our freedoms erode and the United States slip down from it’s pedestal into chaos, racism, economic disaster and greed.

What surprises me most when I read the headlines ads is the comments beneath the news story. There are comments full of racism, hatred, slander and judgment. Ugly comments. It seems to be ok these days to make comments like that publically.

I have heard the president and his wife called all sorts of racial slurs (and no, I’m not his biggest fan, but have SOME level of respect). I hear Arab people being described in horrible terms, and the Muslim religion totally debased.

I get that people are angry. I am angry too. But I can’t slip into that level of hatred. It’s just not healthy.

I don’t know where this country is headed. It would seem that the strides we made over the last few decades are dissipating. That’s what really scares me.

It scares me that all this hatred and judgment will become the norm. I don’t want to be a part of it.

But where to go?

Leave a Reply

