Dark Night of the Soul Part 1

Many of the people who come to me for counseling via Tarot, Astrology or Coaching come during their “Dark Night of the Soul”.  This is a time in life when all seems lost, whether it’s because of divorce, death, illness, job loss or any of the other major life happenings that can bring us down.

The most prevalent time for this is during the Uranus Opposition at ages approximately 38-42. This is the time in life when transiting Uranus opposes your natal Uranus in your chart.  Uranus is the need for freedom, and depending on what astrological house it falls in, will give an indication of the area of life deeply affected.  

For me personally, during my Uranus opposition, I got a divorce.  I had been unhappy for many years, and during this time the pull to get away was so intense I couldn’t disregard it.  Soon after, I fell in love for probably the first time in my life.  That relationship of course ended, and I was confronted with my own Dark Night of the Soul.  The intensity of the relationship was almost to the point of being unbearable, and it’s ending was devastating to me.  At the time I did not realize that this brought up all sorts of issues I had never dealt with in my life, and I had been in a deep depression and spiritual repression for many years.  

Through that Dark Night of the Soul, I sought out all types of help from traditional therapy to Reiki, Past Life Regression, energy healing, Astrology, Tarot and everything in between.  Many years later I came to see it for what it really was:  a spiritual awakening. 

Synchronicity was ubiquitous during that time, as well as spiritual and metaphysical phenomena that I had held a bay for years out of my own fear.  It was a process of healing on all levels that took a good part of a decade.  After that, I emerged a completely new person.  

In future blogs, I will discuss some of what happened to me.  

Leave a Reply

