On Guns

images

I do suppose this is a very volatile topic to discuss, but I think I have to.  We have had 74 school shootings since Newtown.  This statistic has been criticized because it also included accidental shootings….but really, a shooting is a shooting and if your child dies, do you really care what kind of shooting it is?  Can parents no longer feel safe to send their kids to school?

I remember that when the Columbine shooting occurred, I took my son to school and found kids dressed in trench coats just like the shooter wore at Columbine.  I was terrified to leave him, and in fact took him home and called the school to complain.  I was told that they could do nothing about it, the kids had the freedom to dress like that. And I might add, people have the freedom to keep guns, even when there is a psychotic person living in the house.

I am so glad my boys are grown and I don’t have to worry about this. But I do have to worry about my grandchildren.

I am also appalled about another statistic:  did you know that the US only has 2 fewer gun deaths per 100,000 than Iraq?  Our citizens own 88.8 guns per 100 people?  Japan has less than 50 gun deaths per year and less than 200 in Canada due to tighter gun controls.

You can’t deny statistics.

With the NRA having a stranglehold on our government, it doesn’t look like tighter gun control will ever happen.  So our children continue to be murdered simply by going to school so that a group of boisterous Americans can have their weapons and their supposed constitutional rights.

As we see our constitution eroded by our government in such things as the Patriot Act and NSA spying, I believe this insistence on gun ownership is backlash.  It seems to be the one constitutional right we can preserve, and in a population that has become basically powerless in the face of the powers that be, it has become a big issue.

The adage for the use of guns is that “guns don’t kill people, people kill people”.  This bit of absurd illogic seems to justify the huge amount of guns we have.  Well, atom bombs don’t kill people in and of themselves, but I think we can all agree it’s a weapon of destruction.

I personally would love to see guns banished from the face of the earth along with bombs and other weapons of destruction.  But I don’t think that would ever happen.  But for our children’s sake, we need to establish better gun control.  We need to do more to protect our children.  The current situation is simply not acceptable.

Leave a Reply

