Government

download

Today I was thinking that if a Democrat got in the White House, I could breathe a sigh of relief.  I’m not really a Democrat though, I’m a registered Independent.  I would have once voted Republican if Republicans were what they once were.  But they’re not.

Republicans are against:  clean air, clean water, caring for the planet.  They are against government funded healthcare, education and women’s right to govern their own bodies. They are against immigrants, reasonable minimum wage, anyone who isn’t Christian, equality for women, anyone who isn’t “straight, and gay marriage. They deny evolution and global warming, despite the scientific evidence.    I have trouble figuring out what they are FOR.  War, maybe. Unlimited, unfettered guns.Big oil and big business. More tax breaks for millionaires. Nothing I am for.

Who are these people?  What happened to the Republican party?  I think it got hijacked by the Christian Fundamentalists. Fundamentalism isn’t pretty in any religion.  And ultimately it’s all the same. A fundamental premise of fundamentalism is that “we” are better than you, our morality must be for all and you don’t count regardless of whether it’s Christian fundamentalism or Islamic fundamentalism.

I can remember when it was just a question of wanting big government or not wanting big government.  The Republican party didn’t want big government, yet today they want to legislate our morality.  They are even passing laws that discriminate against the LGBTQ, immigrant and non-Christian communities, and even govern what people do in the privacy of their bedrooms.  That’s a lot of government. What happened to our fundamental rights?  Right to privacy?  Right to worship (or not) as we please?

It really scares me.  I don’t know what the future of this country looks like if they get elected.  I don’t even think I want to stay here. And in a few years, we will all be looking around, perplexed, saying, “What happened?”

 

Leave a Reply

