This and That

MKL2

I hesitate to write this because I don’t want to be part of the political storm that is engulfing our country but being who I am, I can’t be silent.  I am so embarrassed by what people are doing and saying.  It’s become so racist, judgmental and so unkind.

Politics is no longer about economics and sane policy differences but it’s become about religion.  I have come to the conclusion that the words that are uttered in the name of Christianity are anything but Christian.  I found myself bristling when the media called them “People of faith”.  Faith in what?  Does that mean that those who do not hold those very extreme religious beliefs have no faith in anything?  And where in the bible does Jesus say to hate people?  I believe he made an example of himself by loving everyone, regardless of their “sins”.  So these people have created a bogus “faith” that allows the ugliness within them to come out.  And the media is giving them plenty of press time.

Once again I saw a bunch of comments on a post condemning people who had to rely on the government for health care.  “Lazy” they called them.  “Why don’t they just get a job?”  “They’d rather just lay about all day long, rather than work like we do.”  Well, I was a dog groomer for many years.  That sound like a fun, fluffy job, playing with cute puppies all day.  Well, not.  It’s a very hard job, lifting dogs near your own weight, cleaning filth, getting bitten, working all day slumped all over a grooming table.  I worked, and I worked very hard.  In fact, even now, after retiring from grooming, I still experience a lot of pain in my back and hands.  I can remember going to work, sick, because most dog grooming establishments did not pay benefits, certainly not health insurance or paid sick days.  Try having the flu and grooming an 80 pound dog in your wet clothes because he hated his bath and splashed you.

I took a break and worked in a pet supply store in management.I walked all day, 8 hours, in a 4000 sq foot store, lifting 40 pound bags of dog food.  I worked a 40 hour week.  I developed plantar fasciitis, and became so crippled I could barely walk. It was only because I could do Reiki that I was able to continue, because the store did not pay health insurance. The owner maintained that if he was forced to pay health insurance because of the number of employees he had, he would shut down stores first.

That’s what I contended with over those years. All that while trying to raise two young boys.  So am I one of those lazy people?

Even now I know people who suffer incredible pain but do not go to the doctor because they can’t afford the copay with Obamacare.  Have these people who call us “lazy” ever had to experience living with the pain and fear for a condition they cannot afford to treat? Have they ever experienced chest pain yet gone to sleep anyway because they have no insurance so their only alternative is death?

The Pope washes the feet of the homeless and Jesus healed the lepers, yet these same people cannot bake a cake for gay people because their “faith” prohibits it? Gay people, whose only “sin” is love?  Who is the “sinner” here?  I think the true sinners are those who spread hate and sit in judgment of their fellow humans. Jesus taught by example to love everyone.

There were only two commandments Jesus taught.  Gospel of Mark 12…30AND YOU SHALL LOVE THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND, AND WITH ALL YOUR STRENGTH.’ 31“The second is this, ‘YOU SHALL LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”

I quote the bible here not because I am a Christian, but because I wish to illustrate how profoundly off track Christianity in this country has come.  I’m sure there are many Christians who follow Jesus’ commandments, but the ones who are getting press these days (and the ones running for office) do not.  This religion has become perverted by hatred, and brought out a segment of our population that is downright ugly.

I talk to my friends who came from other countries and they are just shocked by the rhetoric they hear.  I think we have become a joke around the world when we should be setting an example for freedom and liberty.

It makes me so sad.  My friends say to just don’t read about it, but how can I hide my head in the sand and pretend it doesn’t exist?  I’m just not made that way.  As Dr. King said, “Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”

Love and Light, Georgia

www.loveandlightreikihealing.com

 

Leave a Reply

