Reiki Books for Beginners

 

pneumatharapist-pranic-healing-and-reiki

 

I have found that most of my students do some investigating by reading books prior to actually booking a class.  Here are some great books for Reiki beginners.  And if you’ve been doing Reiki for a while, if you haven’t read these books, I’d get them in my library right away!

  1.  The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Usui by Frank Arjava Petter. It is one of three published around the same time, and the others are valuable too. This book was one of the first to give a purist perspective of Reiki, rather than the somewhat adulterated version brought to the US originally.  Frank Petter actually went to Japan to research Reiki origins. This was the first of several good books that should be in every Reiki library. This book is available through Amazon here.
  2. The Spirit of Reiki by Frank Arjava Petter and Walter Lubeck. This book details many Japanese Reiki techniques.  This book is a must read for my Reiki III students as I feel it’s important to know these techniques for your Reiki practice.  A good example of how it helped me happened several years ago.  Someone contacted me for Reiki classes.  He was a paraplegic, but really wanted to give Reiki.  I was able to teach him the Gyoshi-Ho, Healing with the Eyes.  He was able to give Reiki by directing the energy through his eyes to the client. Knowing this technique allowed him to realize a dream he might never had accomplished. You can buy it on Amazon here.
  3. A Modern Reiki Method for Healing by Hiroshi Doi. This is the only book I know of written by a member of the Japanese Reiki Gakkai.  This is the organization established by Dr. Usui.  It is a very closed and private group and few people have been able to witness it.  So this gives us a very unadulterated perspective of Japanese Reiki.
  4. This is Reiki by Frank Arjava Petter.  This book chronicles Frank Petter’s 18 year Reiki journey with several trips to Japan.  He gives a more complete and realistic history of Reiki in this book, along with some of his experiences.
  5. Reiki, Crystals and Chakras by Georgia Vlahos.  I’m not trying to toot my own horn, lol, but my book was written for students of energy healing.  It is also used as a manual by Reiki Masters all over the world. You can purchase it here.

I tend to stay away from books that publicize the Reiki Symbols.  First, the Reiki Symbols are sacred and are passed from Master to student during the attunement. I feel those who publish are somewhat disrespectful.  They need to be treated sacredly, not blasted all over the internet.  The other reason is that there are so many variations of the symbols, and many added on symbols that are not from Usui Reiki. I suggest you get your Reiki Symbols from a legitimate Reiki Master Teacher, not the internet.

I hope you enjoy these books.  I am sure they will add a lot to your Reiki experience.

Love and Light, Georgia

www.georgiavlahos.com

2 thoughts on “Reiki Books for Beginners

Leave a Reply

