Judith

Judith2

My very dear friend and mentor, Rev. Dr. Judith Larkin Reno, passed away this weekend after a long illness.  The truth is, she had been battling multiple myeloma for many years. She was at death’s door several times, but rallied each time.  I have never met anyone in my life with such an indomitable, disciplined and courageous spirit.  She astounded everyone she knew, including her doctors.

I met Judith in the mid 90s just after my divorce.  I had also been devastated by a love relationship and was searching for anything that would alleviate my pain.  Somehow, and I think it was our mutual connection to St. Germain, I found Gateway Church and University, her amazing creations.  Gateway was a place to learn alternative spirituality, counseling and ministry. But for those who scoffed at such things back then, Judith was also a PhD psychologist as well as a mystic, and one of the most brilliant people I have ever known.

I took many classes at Gateway.  I learned to read auras, learned counseling techniques, psychic skills, ministry and much much more. These are skills that continued to this day and formed the basis of my healing and counseling practice. But even more than that, I found a dear friend and mentor and our relationship far transcended my time at Gateway.

It was always Judith that I could call when I lost my way, or life handed me some lemons. She had a thousand recipes for lemonade, and she kicked my metaphysical butt many times and got me back on track.  We had a shared interest in Astrology, and we spent many hours discussing our mutual charts and how all that affected what was going on in our lives at the time.

Toward the end of her life, the situation reversed and I has honored to be able to be there for her as she navigated her new journey.  Judith faced Death head on, and was determined to live long enough to get her affairs in order and to ensure that Gateway continued through the very capable hands of Rev. Kimberly Marooney.

Judith’s incredible vision in establishing Gateway was to create a legitimate University where people could learn to be effective ministers and counselors and integrate both modern psychology, mysticism and metaphysics in order to manifest lasting healing. When I joined Gateway, it was a time when metaphysics wasn’t taken very seriously.  Judith was way ahead of her time, as the passage of time itself demonstrated.

I quote Judith to this day in my classes and workshops.  She coined some amazing phrases. My favorite was her term, “God Glasses”.  She would ask us to look at the situation through our “God Glasses” which was really a clever way of saying look at the big picture through our higher self, or, see things as God might see them. I always got an amazing visual in my mind of brass Steam Punk type goggles with rosy pink glass. Her “God Ladder” is a huge help in navigating the often difficult world.

My favorite Judith quote is, “To be truly enlightened you must be able to walk in both worlds”.  Every one of my students has heard it several times. I think that Judith admirably accomplished that in her life.  I am still working on it however.

Judith was perhaps one of the greatest influences in my life.  I was honored to share her when I sent my friends, clients and students to her wonderful Wisdom Circles.  They derived so much healing and knowledge from them. Those who went were forever changed by her Wisdom.

I liked to remind her that her influence was exponential.  Of the ministers and students she trained, most of them went on to do their own great work.  I don’t think she was aware of the incredible influence she had on the world.

I was also honored to participate in her video, “The Living Legacy” and hopefully will be able to get it out on the internet at some point.

One of the most amazing things about Judith was her ability to recognize the greatness in everyone who came through her life.  She wouldn’t hesitate to tell you how accomplished and wonderful you were and how much she loved and admired you. This was the first time in my life I encountered this, and it was very healing for me.  Her ability came, I think, from overcoming the limits of her own ego, getting to a place where she could bolster other people up in a very positive way.  Most people do just the opposite. This was the genius behind her amazing classes, Wisdom Circles and counseling. Judith radiated pure love.

Judith was a very enlightened being who was way ahead of her time.  Her legacy will live on forever in her students, friends and all the people in their respective spheres of influence.

Most of all though, Judith was my friend. She can never be replaced and there will forever be a void in my heart that will never be filled again.

RIP in peace, dear friend. I love you.

Love and Light, Georgia

Leave a Reply

