Compassion

DL.jpg

I am sitting here at the computer, this 9/11 pondering the state of the world and humanity. It seems the world has polarized into two factions:  those that can feel compassion and those that can’t.

I was remembering a Facebook “conversation” with a friend…who was ranting about how people who don’t have health insurance are “lazy” and don’t want to work.  This was of course prior to Obamacare.  I remember the hurt I felt when I realized I was one of those people.  Despite working 40 hour weeks in pain grooming dogs (and believe me, it’s a body killing profession), my employer did not offer health insurance.  It would have hurt the “bottom line” too much I suppose.

It seems like there is a faction in the United States at least who do not even begin to understand what it’s like to walk in another’s shoes.  Nor do they want to.  They live in their own little narcissistic world and don’t even care to realize that not everyone has the same opportunities.  We live in a country where the minimum wage hasn’t been raised in many years, yet everything continues to creep upwards in cost.

Yet, it’s not the politics I’m talking about here.  It’s the lack of compassion I see daily coming from at least half of our population.  These are the same people who don’t care for Mother Earth, who turn away children refugees, who cut programs that provide food for the poor, many of whom are helpless children, who begrudge healthcare and on and on.

I ask myself, what makes people so unkind?  These are the same people who claim to be Christians, but who don’t even remotely live the life that Jesus taught.  All of those that we worship, from Jesus to Gandhi to Mother Theresa, exhibited the trait of compassion, yet it doesn’t seem to really exist much today.

So it’s not political to me.  It’s a plague upon humanity.  Perhaps we need to evolve another thousand years to see it; I don’t know.  I do know that it pains me greatly to see our world overrun by the narcissists. I want to envision a world where people care for the Earth and the creatures upon it, and care for their fellow human beings.  With our technology and wealth, no one should have to suffer.

 

Leave a Reply

