Choosing Your “Psychic”

I define my reading style as an intuitive Tarot card reader who is also clairvoyant and empathic. I can also admit that I change that definition from time to time to address new skills I work with. I am also a Certified Life Coach and Astrologer.  But what does this actually mean?  There are many types of psychics and readers and as potential client you should know the difference.

“Psychic” is a catch all phrase that can mean many things. I am using it in this blog as such.  I’ll go into more detail below.

Starting off is the Tarot reader.  This person has mastered reading the Tarot cards (or Oracle cards or Runes).  Many do not boast of any extrasensory powers, they simply read the cards. This can be very effective because for some strange reason, the cards work.  We don’t know exactly why they work, but they do work through the principle of synchronicity, which is defined as the simultaneous occurrence of events that appear significantly related but have no discernible causal connection, i.e., the cards and the events in your life.

An intuitive reader will also have feelings about the reading.  If the reader is experienced, he or she will know that the feelings are usually right. For example, if you ask a question about your lover, the reader might get a very strong feeling about your relationship. Moving into a more intense knowing is the clairvoyant. The clairvoyant has an inner knowing that can be quite strong and persistent. She may experience clairsentience, meaning she can actually sense and feel what is going on. This is also known as empathy, the ability to feel what another is feeling. People who feel the emotions of others are known as empaths.

Clairaudience is the ability to have a little voice in the head that guides you.  It’s not the little voice that tells you to do bad things.  That is psychosis and needs medication! The little voice may be your Spirit Guide, angel, higher self, etc. The  “little voice in my head” has saved me many times throughout the course of my life.

Claircognizance is the ability to just know something without facts.  For example, you might be about to drive somewhere and a little voice in your head says don’t get in the car. This is because you would have had an accident.  How many of you ignore that little voice in your heads?

There are other skills too, such as mediumship, which is the ability to communicate with the deceased.  This can be dramatic like you might see on television or it can be a simple inner knowing.  Palm reading is the ability to read the map of the the client’s life from the lines on the palm. Channeling is the ability to bring through the words of another entity. It’s important that the entity always be from the Light. Channeling astral plain spirits who give negative messages is to be discouraged.  Make sure your channeler is experienced and working through the Light.

Often your “psychic” will have a combination of skills.  I know I experience all of them from one time to another.  But the ones I experience most reliably are Clairsentience (Empath), Clairvoyance and Clairaudience.  I am an occasional medium, though I don’t advertise that because I don’t do the very dramatic trance mediumship, which is actually allowing the dead to speak through you.  People seem to be conditioned from TV to expect the drama.

In order to get a good reading from a psychic, go in with an open mind and heart. There are some clients who come in and say nothing and expect you to know everything about them. I tell them I’m not a mind reader, nor would I want to be. And why would you pay someone to tell you what you already know? My best readings come from clients who are open and communicative.

I am also a Certified Life Coach, so I feel that part of any good reading is to find a solution to the problem.  Sometimes I’ll integrate Astrology to better understand my client. My goal is to have my clients leave with workable solutions to their problems as well as some hope for the future. As a Life Coach, I can help you set and realize your goals, get clear on what you want, and basically straighten out your life!

Beware the psychic who promises to remove curses, karma or bring back old lovers.  These are scammers, because there are no such things as curses, and only you can balance your karma.  I’m not saying that it can’t be done, but bringing back old lovers is a form of Black Magic and is not without karmic consequences for you. Black Magic involves the manipulation of another person without their permission.  These psychics charge huge amounts of money, scare the daylight out of you, and offer to burn candles and what not.  Often your initial visit is quite inexpensive, but when you are there they will give you some tidbit of information that will frighten you and they will tantalize you with just enough information to make you keep coming back. When people are in a vulnerable place, they are more open to this in their desperation. Some people have been taken for thousands of dollars, and many of these readers have been arrested.  There’s an interesting Hulu series about these “psychics” who are really part of a large, nationwide crime family.  The series is Shut Eye, and is available with a Hulu subscription.  It really does give psychics a bad name, but you should know that most of us are honest, talented and want only to help you.  You should leave your reading with hope, not fear! And remember, no one can balance your karma for you.  Only you can do that.

And I’d also like to advise you that peering in too deeply into another person’s life or feelings is not ethical.  I am comfortable talking about how that person relates to you, but I’m not comfortable telling you all sorts of personal things about them.  How would you like it if someone went to a psychic and they told him or her all your personal stuff?  It’s very invasive.

I also feel that diagnosing illness and predicting death are unethical.  Diagnosing illness is actually against the law here in California and predicting death is better left to God. Doctors predict death all the time, and I often wonder if they hadn’t done that, would the person live longer?  That is a self fulfilling prophecy.

Try to choose your psychic for the skills that would be of the most benefit to you.  For example, if you want to talk to your dead Aunt Zelda, choose a medium.  If you want to find out what will happen in your marriage, choose someone with claircognizance.

I would be happy to answer your questions about psychics or give you a reading.  You can contact me at sacredim@hotmail.com or call me at the Myztic Isle at 619-465-3005.

 

 

Leave a Reply

