Animal Spirits

Many, many years ago, when I got married, my then husband bought me a 7 week old Toy Poodle as a wedding gift.  Little did I know that Sebastian, as I named him, would be the start of a life long career for me in the pet industry.  I became a breeder, exhibitor, groomer, trainer, and seller and champion of fine dog food food.  I only recently retired.

Sebastian lived for 14 years.  My heart broke when I had to put him to sleep.  There were many memorable Poodles for me over the years — Spicey, Dodie, Trek, Buddy, and more.

Over the years, Spicey and Sebastian have come to me regularly in dreams.  I always wake up feeling so blessed to have been able to spend time with them.  Usually they are running around, playing, and I’m worrying about them getting out and getting lost, just like I did when they were alive.

Once, I was sitting on the couch watching TV. I saw the tail of a cat pass in front of me. Since the cat wasn’t allowed out of my son’s room (due to allergies), I said, “Come and get the cat!”.  He answered, “She’s in here.”  I looked again, and saw the back of a calico cat passing through the wall.  Don’t know who she is, probably a former resident of the house!

I once dreamed about another dog I loved, a large white mixed breed.  I’ve never dreamed about her before. Her name was Ubee, and she probably passed away in the 90s.  She stayed with my ex-husband after the divorce, so I never really saw her again. DIvorce is terrible all around, but losing animals hurts as much as anything else.  She was a very beautiful, kind and loving dog.In my dream, she was sitting next to my bed, and was somewhat transparent.  I exclaimed, “Ubee!” and went to pet her but she walked off and then disappeared.

I have heard it said that these visits are real.  I really don’t know; my feeling is that they are.  It is so nice to know that they live on, just in another form.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.